Batman and Robin #8 And the Night of Owls Event- Shit is Getting Real.

This is what need to happen.

So I feel a little dirty calling a Batman comic cute. I mean, come on, you want so much grit in a Batman comic that you are picking dirt out of your teeth. Batman punches people and we root for him to do it, we don’t want him cute.  We want him pissed off and beating criminals up for screwing around in his town. Hell, I love him when he is in what I call Papa Bat mode, where you are lucky if you come out with all your limbs in the correct place and angle, and the quickest way to get him in that mode is to attack one of the people he sees as his children. Or the woman he is dating at the time. It is like teabagging a bear cub in front of its mother, and the aftermath is a no holds barred fight with a fucking liger while your arms tied to your feet.

I think the word you were looking for is normal.

But I think about Batman and Robin #8 and all I can think is, holy cow that was adorable. Completely freaking adorable with a capital A. And really, it was.  It was human, it was father and son bonding and all that kind of goodness. It ended like it was supposed to. Hell, even the dog got in on the bonding.  And Bruce didn’t reject Damian, which is the most important thing, I think.

What you get for taking his ball.

Though I think Titus is my favorite DC character now. Not sure how that happened. But look at him. He is just such a dog. (What, I love dogs and Batman. And they put them together.)

I think one of the things they are handling, storytelling wise, with Batman and Robin is Bruce finally dealing with his parents’ death. At least, I feel like he is trying to put his life back together. It will be interesting to see how he handles that and his role as Batman. Though it is really odd to see him, well, light and without having sarcasm dragging not too far behind, which is really enjoyable.

Well, here goes a crazy train.

Which brings us to the Night of Owls Event….Which I feel is going to fall a little flat for me. I still think it is going to be good, but I have a few problems with it.

After all, I have been trying to figure out how they all link together. Take a look at the list of comics that fall into this event. There is Batman and Robin, Batman, Detective Comics, Dark Knight, All Star Western, Batgirl, Nightwing, Batwing, Catwoman, Birds of Prey, Red Hood, and…I think I am missing one or two but am kinda too lazy to look it up. Pretty much half the DC line up.

Now, Batman and Robin, and Batman the comic seem to be linked. After all, we have seen Damian in that, so I am assuming that they are the same universe, and happening around the same time. And these series seemed to have given the bird to the reboot and just continued doing whatever they wanted too. Not sure if Barbara can walk in that one, I can’t recall seeing her. Which is cool. And for the sake of this argument, is going to be called Batman World 1.

We Know Catwoman and Detective Comics are linked, but I can’t figure out if it is a different timeline, or just floating out there in the ether of whenever the fuck Batman had time. I just don’t feel like this is part of Batman World 1, so this is BatWorld 2. Or if it is connected to Batworld 1, they haven’t shown the link yet, or I missed it completely.

And with Dark Knight Comics, I felt like it was linked to the World with Justice League, just because they had around the same art style and the Justice League has shown up there. So it could be that this is when he is running around in his early years, so it could be part of Batworld 1 or 2, or not in the same world as Justice League, and I was making a silly link. So Batworld 3.

Now, if these are all linked, the order of events matter. They can’t all happen at the same time, there is so much that has gone on in the other comics, they couldn’t fit together. So I am going to propose my order of events in the three Batworlds.

I think Batworld 3 is where Bruce is the youngest. I can’t explain why, but he just feels young in that one, like he is still starting out.  And if it is linked with the world with the Justice League, then it is when he is just starting out.

Batworld 2 is the one in the middle for me.

Batworld 3 is where Bruce is the oldest, because, well, he has a ten year old kid.

The question is, are they all linked, and has this been brewing for years in the background? That is a pretty interesting idea, which will be fun to see play out.

With the other comics, I don’t know how they linked up because I was planning on picking up the graphic novels, so I haven’t read them. (Because I only has so much money, and My Fiancé is a Green Lantern fan, so we have enough comics to keep up with, and I can only read so much before it all blends together.)  But I am going to guess that All-Western is going to have the birth of the Court of Owls.

But there is another part to this event that really, well, bugs me. Because, for the most part, (at least in the comics I have been reading) we haven’t seen much of Gotham. Of all the DC universes cities, Gotham has always fallen flat for me and it is a big issue when it comes to events like these. Batman knows what he is fighting for, his city, but we never, ever see the people in it. Or if we do, it is in passing. This event could be more than just Batman fighting for control and to keep his place in the underworld. Or if we had more of a connection to Gotham herself, it could be a fight for her very soul. That would be amazing. Think about it. If we know what kind of city Gotham is, whether she is moving more toward a group of people who are starting to put their city together, to bring more wealth and hope to the city, like Bruce is doing to himself; or if it is still the shithole it has always been, where the cops are all moonlighting as monks for some crime boss. I honestly don’t know, and I wish they had done something with that, like give us more of a view, because then this event puts so much more at stake. If Batman loses, what is going to happen to Gotham?

They did a little in Detective Comic, but it is so quick that it is hard to know if we really saw if the city is changing or not.

I still know I am going to enjoy this event, this is the lead up that Batman has been leading up to, and it has been a fun ride. I mean, the mind fuck that was issue #5! I remember reading it, going, what the fuck is going on?! I love this! I will be upset if it falls flat.

I know Batman is going to win. Even if the Court manages to defeat him, they cannot remove Bruce Wayne from Gotham. He is too big of a figure in Gotham to just disappear.  So it would be more of a battle being won for the Owls, not a war.  He will just come back, and hit harder than his first round. Plus, he is, well, Batman. The man’s theme song should be “I won’t Back Down.”

And just one more Titus…

I really like the dog.....

1 Comment

  1. […] was trying to figure out how all the Batman Comics linked in to each other. If not, you can see it here. Well Batman Detective Comics #9 came out which is part of the event. And apparently happens after […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

