Under The Red Hood

So I bought the movie, Batman Under the Red Hood Friday night….and have watched it every day since, because, well, I have no life. And love Batman. And since I can’t really come up with anything to talk about I’m going to point out a few things that I enjoyed about the movie.

1.) Ra’s Al Ghul being upset that Jason got killed. I love it when we have complex villains, rather than two dimensional ones. Ra’s was bothered by the fact that Jason was killed and it was his fault. Not saying that he didn’t think the next part every well, but hey, no one perfects.

2.) Watching Nightwing and Batman work together. And the Banter. Dear God the Banter. After watching it a few times it didn’t get old. That surprised me. I figured when I watched it the third time in three days I was going to want to slap him. But no. That didn’t happen. One of the Best line: “I’m chatty, it’s part of my charm.”

3.) The End scene was adorable, but sad. We know how Jason’s tenure as Robin ends within the first like, ten minutes of the movie, and hearing him say that it was the best day of his life, was a knife twist. Seeing Bruce kind of happy and a bit of hamming it up with the kid was sad. We know how their relationship ends, with Jason hating Bruce. But I love that it is like Batman really is just a giant kid. (Who beats the shit out of people every night and kicks a lot of ass when he wants too, but still, giant kid.) Which, on some level, he is. Best line out of the scene: “Would have, if I haven’t heard you slip behind the computer bay three minutes ago!”

4.) The Joker was actually a threat. I remembering watching Batman:TAS and the Joker in that was just a clown, and not really that dark. And I know that was because it was for kids but I’m sorry, the TAS treated you more like an adult than Batman and Robin did. Why do you think Nolan say that Robin wasn’t going to show up in Batman, I will give you a hint, it was that movie. But back to the Red Hood, the Joker was the mix bag of horrifying and funny. I laughed when he killed Black Mask men, because he was funny. It is sick man.

5.) Jason pointing out that there is no reason why the Joker should be alive; by saying that Bruce’s Morals are too fucked up, not seeing that if Bruce crosses that line, there is nothing stopping him from killing anyone in Gotham that is trying to stand in Batman’s way. It was like seeing the two different ends of what Batman could become. That was really really…good.

The only down side is that Batman is voiced by someone else, who did a great job, but it wasn’t Kevin Conroy. Who is, I’m sorry, Batman’s voice. If I had all the money in the world I would pay him to read me batman comics all day long.

Edit: Some Mornings I’m not with it. And don’t think to read the blog…or Hit spell check….So I’m going to go sit in the corner, and flog myself for my failings as a human being.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

