Bonus Blog-Justice League #11

Okay, three points real quick.

1) If Diana was still in love with Steve, why did she break it off? At least this makes it less like Steve was raping her….What? I couldn’t have been the only one who got that read from the flashback that they had of him and her, where they are holding hands. Diana’s mentality at time was like a small child, so it’s creepy to me that a grown man is sexuality attracted to that. And I felt that he tricked her into a relationship and that is why she broke it off. If that isn’t the case, how the fuck was I suppose to read that? Can someone explain that to me please? Because now I am questioning my read of that, and I wasn’t the only one I knew who felt that way too. My fiancé read it the same way. We were like, what? Why is this here? Why would the other men in the League let this happen to her? She was clearly a child. Mental. I don’t see Hal or Bruce or any of them letting that go on. They would at least make sure she understood what was going on between her and Steve the second they caught wind of it.

Edit: Okay, maybe rape isn’t the right word here…..sexaul conversion. Either way, it was fucking werid to me.

2) How the fuck is the team working if they don’t seem to like each other at all. Batman doesn’t count, but really, it doesn’t feel like any of the team members like each other at all. I don’t think you would be hanging out with each other like they appear to do if you don’t like them. I don’t hang out with people I don’t like, and really, they only need to be a team when the earth is threatened. When it isn’t, what is the point of having them in the watchtower at all. We know Bats has trust issues, so that is why he is distance. (Plus I don’t think he wants to care about anyone again, just because of all that has happened to him. The man’s heart has been through a wood chipper.) But there isn’t a good reason for anyone else to be. So what is up with that.

3) The most important to me, HOW THE FUCK DOES ANY THING HAPPENING NOW TIE INTO THE FIRST ISSUES? Those were a fucking flash back. You started the fucking story arc with a god damn flashback and it has been 11 issues, where is the fucking pay off?

Yea, this comic made me angry. I am sick of trying to find the threads in this one. Because the characters aren’t making sense. Come on Johns, you can write better than this. We all know you can, so could you at least pretend to give a fuck and write better? I know you can write, I picked up Batman Earth One and that kicked ass. So could you channel what ever you did for that and get that into Justice League please?

AND NO ONE GIVES A SHIT ABOUT SHAZAM! There. I said it. I don’t read it at all. I gave up on that one. I don’t want to have to give up on Justice League. Could you at least get them to act like they give a shit about each other. Because it doesn’t feel like they do at all. They did in the old canon. Why can’t they here?

Okay….Rant done.

2 Comments

  1. “You started the fucking story arc with a god damn flashback and it has been 11 issues, where is the fucking pay off?”

    I suspect there won’t be one, or at least not as big of one as you’re hoping for. What we have there is the reimagined origin of the Justice League. I think that’s as far as it goes.

    “Could you at least get them to act like they give a shit about each other. Because it doesn’t feel like they do at all. They did in the old canon. Why can’t they here?”

    My guess? Because DC has exactly four ways of making comics new and edgy:

    1. Turn the character into a jerk or douchebag.
    2. Introduce a lot of drama and tragedy.
    3. Kill them off and replace them.
    4. Hit the reboot button.

    The New 52 heavily relies on the first one on this list.

    If you want heroes who get along and give a shit about one another, I suggest reading the “JLA: Year One” issues I sent. It has a lot of great character moments that I think you’ll love. 🙂

    • I started it early to today. I think what annoyes me the most is that JLI was better than JLA, But JLI is the one that is getting cancelled. Yea, the writer lost Batman in issue 11 but they gave a good reason for Guy to act like a douchecanoe, and he began to shape up and care about his team. Everyone else was trying to get to know each other.
      And just point it out, Batman has and will always be a Douchecanoe, but that is why we love him. Maybe that is why he was in JLI so much, he wanted to be on a team with people who at least gave a shit about each other.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

